Why choose our Burgundy stones ?

The Burgundy stone, naturally universal

Resulting from the richness of the soil and worked in Burgundy according to an ancestral know-how, the Burgundy stone is an integral part of the Burgundy and French historical and cultural heritage.

Castles, abbeys, churches, ramparts, mansions, manor houses, farms, … the remains of the first constructions are numerous in the towns and the villages and testify of our cultural identity.

Timeless material that is constantly renewing itself, the Burgundy stone also participates in the evolution of urban landscapes.

New technologies and our creativity allow today a great choice of finishes, an optimized financial approach and a great ease of maintenance.

 

What is Burgundy stone ?

If we go back to the primary era, we must imagine a soil essentially made of granite (cooled magma). But under the tropical climate that prevailed, the region saw from the east a hot and agitated sea. The area was submerged for much of the secondary era before the sea gradually retreated, leaving behind sedimentary rocks that will determine soil composition.

The stone extracted from our Burgundian quarries comes from the different strata created by these sediment deposits. Eight floors locally make up the floors.

It is mainly in the Bajocian and Bathonian levels that we find, among other things, the oolitic limestones exploited in the quarries of Burgundy. From poor to rich in fossils they gradually deteriorated during the following eras in the Jurassic period.

 

Burgundy stone and sustainable development

Noble and natural material, the Burgundy stone fits perfectly in a logic of sustainable development.

The commitment to restore quarries at the end of their operations is not the only parameter that goes into the logic of sustainable development and the environmental protection of Burgundy natural stone.

The valorization of co-products of stone, the recycling of machining sludge, that of the water used in the workshops and the durability of the natural stone of Burgundy are also part of it. In addition, the stone generates very little waste or pollution during its shaping.

It does not require the addition of cement or other binder. This natural material, on the other hand, does not need treatment or chemical input to ensure its viability.

The stone breathes, produces no toxic emanation. It offers a healthy environment inside the house. It absorbs moisture and promotes energy saving.

Its insulating qualities make it a temperature regulator, thus avoiding overconsumption of heating in winter and air conditioning in summer.

Finally, it does not require finishing product, patina naturally over time, and water is its best ally to preserve its natural beauty.

 

The Burgundy stone,
naturally beautiful,
naturally timeless,
naturally natural.

Burgundy Stone and Geographical Indication

As an active member of the Association Stones of Burgundy we defend the creation and the establishment of a geographical indication protecting industrial and craft products (IGPIA) in order to secure the purchasers of the counterfeits and the usurpation which is the object of the stone of Burgundy.

This Geographical Indication will allow in future to guarantee the traceability of the products in Burgundy Stones and the know-how of all the actors of the sector whose production will be carried out on the defined area in Burgundy (4 departments: 21, 71 , 58 and 89).

These companies will be certified and checked annually by a control body and will carry an approval number.

The entire Burgundy stone material will be tracked, a customer will be able to launch an investigation in case of doubt to check the traceability of the finished product to the block extracted from the quarry.
In the event of proven fraud by a reseller, it will be the DGCCRF (French fraud repression) that will be seized of the file because this will be like counterfeiting.

Today you find rogue traders who show Turkish Travertine for Burgundy stone
Just look at the search engines of companies that advertise like LaPierreNaturelle.fr which is only an office in a pavilion in Isère doing the intermediary between a production unit of Travertine in Turkey and which displays without shame that it is Burgundy stone or Francepierre Sud company that sells among other gray stone of Morocco by telling customers that it is the Pierre de Bourgogne.

 

Logo de l'indication géographique Pierre de Bourgogne [fond noir 260x260]

 

Tomorrow, this IG logo will be affixed on all the products manufactured by 100% Burgundian companies, certified and controlled, and will be the only guarantee that the product which you buy respects the precise specifications of the Geographical Indication Pierre de Bourgogne.

To be sure to buy real Burgundy Stone GI you will need to demand its presence.

And to be sure today what you are buying and the companies you want to work with, check with Association Pierre de Bourgogne.

 

Burgundy stone, naturally !

Pourquoi choisir nos pierres de Bourgogne ?

La pierre de Bourgogne, naturellement universelle

Issue de la richesse des sols et travaillée en Bourgogne selon un savoir-faire ancestral, la pierre de Bourgogne fait partie intégrante du patrimoine historique et culturel bourguignon et français.

Châteaux, abbayes, églises, remparts, maisons de maître, gentilhommières, fermes, … les vestiges des premières constructions sont nombreux dans les villes et les villages et témoignent de notre identité culturelle.

Matériau indémodable qui se renouvelle sans cesse, la pierre de Bourgogne participe aussi à l’évolution des paysages urbains.

Les nouvelles technologies et notre créativité permettent aujourd’hui un grand choix de finitions, une approche financière optimisée et une grande facilité d’entretien.

 

Qu’est-ce que la pierre de Bourgogne ?

Si l’on remonte à l’époque primaire, il faut s’imaginer un sol essentiellement constitué de granit (magma refroidi). Mais sous le climat tropical qui régnait alors, la région a vu s’avancer par l’est une mer chaude et agitée. La région fut engloutie pendant une bonne partie de l’ère secondaire avant que la mer ne se retire progressivement, en laissant derrière elle des roches sédimentaires qui détermineront la composition des sols.

La pierre extraite de nos carrières bourguignones provient des différentes strates créées par ces dépôts de sédiments. Huit étages composent localement les sols.

C’est principalement dans les étages bajociens et bathoniens que l’on retrouve, entre-autre, les calcaires oolithiques exploités dans les carrières de la Bourgogne. De pauvres à riches en fossiles ils se sont petit à petit détériorés durant les ères suivantes à l’époque jurassique.

 

Pierre de Bourgogne et développement durable

Matériau noble et naturel, la pierre de Bourgogne s’inscrit parfaitement dans une logique de développement durable.

L’engagement de remise en état des carrières en fin d’exploitation n’est pas le seul paramètre qui entre dans la logique de développement durable et de la protection environnementale de la pierre naturelle de Bourgogne.

La valorisation des co-produits de pierre, le recyclage des boues d’usinage, celui de l’eau utilisée dans les ateliers et la durabilité de la pierre naturelle de Bourgogne en font également partie. En outre, la pierre ne génère que très peu de déchets ou de pollution lors de son façonnage.

Elle ne nécessite pas d’apport en ciment ou autre liant. Ce matériau naturel n’a, d’autre part, pas besoin de traitement ou d’apport chimique pour assurer sa viabilité.

Le pierre respire, ne produit aucune émanation toxique. Elle offre ainsi un environnement sain à l’intérieur de la maison. Elle absorbe l’humidité et favorise l’économie d’énergie.

Ses qualités isolantes font d’elle un régulateur de température, évitant ainsi une surconsommation de chauffage en hiver et de climatiseur en été.

Enfin, elle ne nécessite pas produit de finition, se patine naturellement au fil du temps, et l’eau est son meilleur allié pour lui conserver sa beauté naturelle.

 

La pierre de Bourgogne,
naturellement belle,
naturellement intemporelle,
naturellement naturelle.

Pierre de Bourgogne et Indication Géographique

En tant que membre actif de l’Association Pierres de Bourgogne nous défendons la création et la mise en place d’une indication géographique protégeant les produits industriels et artisanaux (IGPIA) afin de sécuriser les acheteurs des contrefaçons et de l’usurpation dont fait l’objet la pierre de Bourgogne.

Cette Indication géographique permettra à l’avenir de garantir la traçabilité des produits en Pierres de Bourgogne et le savoir-faire de l’ensemble des acteurs de la filière dont la production sera réalisée sur la zone définie en Bourgogne (4 départements : 21, 71, 58 et 89).

Ces entreprises seront certifiées et contrôlées tous les ans par un organisme de contrôle et porteront un numéro d’agrément.

La totalité de la matière Pierre de Bourgogne sera tracée, un client pourra en cas de doute lancer une enquête afin de faire remonter la traçabilité du produit fini jusqu’au bloc extrait de la carrière.
En cas de fraude avérée d’un revendeur ce sera la DGCCRF qui sera saisie du dossier car ceci s’apparentera à de la contrefaçon.

Aujourd’hui vous trouvez des vendeurs malhonnêtes qui présentent du Travertin turc pour de la pierre de Bourgogne.
Il suffit de voir sur les moteurs de recherche des entreprises qui font de la publicité comme LaPierreNaturelle.fr qui n’est qu’un bureau dans un pavillon en Isère faisant l’intermédiaire entre une unité de production de Travertin en Turquie et qui affiche sans vergogne que c’est de la pierre de Bourgogne ou la société Francepierre sud qui vend entre autre de la pierre du Maroc grise en disant aux clients que c’est de la Pierre de Bourgogne.

 

Logo de l'indication géographique Pierre de Bourgogne [fond noir 260x260]

 

Demain, ce logo IG sera apposé sur tous les produits fabriqués par des entreprises 100% bourguignonnes, certifiées et contrôlées, et sera la seule garantie que le produit que vous achetez respecte le cahier des charges précis de l’Indication Géographique Pierre de Bourgogne.

Pour être sûr d’acheter de la véritable Pierre de Bourgogne IG vous devrez exiger sa présence.

Et pour être sûr aujourd’hui de ce que vous achetez et des entreprises avec lesquelles vous souhaitez travailler, renseignez-vous auprès de l’Association Pierre de Bourgogne.

 

La pierre de Bourgogne, naturellement !