Comblanchien : why is this name so emblematic in stone?

Comblanchien Burgundy limestone

The stone and the name Comblanchien come from the village of Comblanchien in Côte d’Or (21), 12 kilometers north of Beaune. It is one of the most iconic Burgundy limestones with Corton or Massangis. It is known for its particularly fine grain and its hardness which make it ideal for many uses (paving, stairs, engravings, kitchen tops…).

comblanchien Burgundy stonecomblanchien Burgundy stone

Comblanchien has similar aspects to marble with variations ranging from pink veins to a light beige colour. 3 varieties of Comblanchien stone are extracted in the quarry: Comblanchien light, the most homogeneous; Comblanchien Légèrement Moucheté (LM) and the Comblanchien Moucheté. These 3 varieties can be assembled together to create a pleasing mix called Comblanchien DCN (Divers Choix Nuancés), a blend of the three verieties.

This stone is suitable for interiors with a honed finish and exteriors with a flamed finish. The latter is obtained by a flame Jet, whose high temperature creates a rough appearance to the stone. Any risk of slipping outdoors is avoided especially in humid weather.

The most common layout in Comblanchien is a square format of 30 x 30 cm, 40 x 40 cm or 50 x 50 cm. Opus in bands (tiles in fixed widthsof 40 cm and random length) is also a popular pattern.

After laying your paving, we recommend protecting your stone with a water/oil protection repellent

The company Le comptoir des Pierres manufactures all your stone projects in Comblanchien in its workshop located in Savigny Les Beaune (21), whether in standard sizes or made to measure

Our industrial equipment allows us to inscribe your finest engravings. Comblanchien is the ideal stone for this.

Do not hesitate to contact us.

Comblanchien Clear - Engraving

To finish on a historical and cultural note, many public spaces have been renovated or built in Comblanchien stone : the Liberation Square in Dijon, the tram platforms in Bordeaux, part of the floors of the Taipei Tower in Taiwan…

You can discover this stone when visiting Burgundy or anywhere else in the world.

Comblanchien : pourquoi ce nom est-il si emblématique dans la pierre ?

La pierre de Comblanchien

La pierre et le nom Comblanchien viennent de la commune de Comblanchien en Côte d’or (21) à 12 kilomètres au nord de Beaune. Il s’agit d’une des pierres de Bourgogne les plus iconiques avec le Corton ou le Massangis. Elle est reconnue pour son grain particulièrement fin et sa dureté qui la rendent idéale pour de nombreux usages (dallage, escalier, gravures, plans de cuisine…).

comblanchien pierre de bourgognecomblanchien pierre de bourgogne

Le Comblanchien a des aspects similaires au marbre avec des variations allant de veinages roses à une couleur beige clair. 3 déclinaisons de la pierre Comblanchien sont extraites en carrière : le Comblanchien Clair, le plus homogène ; le Comblanchien Lègèrement Moucheté et le Comblanchien Moucheté. Ces 3 déclinaisons se retrouvent dans un assemblage très esthétique appelé Comblanchien Divers Choix Nuancés.

Cette pierre s’adapte en intérieur avec une finition adoucie et en extérieur avec une finition flammée. Cette dernière est obtenue par un jet de flamme, qui par sa température va donner un aspect rugueux à la pierre. Tout risque de glisse est ainsi évité en extérieur en particulier par temps humide.

Le calepinage (plan de pose ou format des dalles) le plus répandu en Comblanchien est un format carré en 30 x 30 cm, 40 x 40 cm ou 50 x 50 cm. Les bandes romaines (une largeur fixe et des longueurs de dalles variables) sont aussi un calepinage usité en particulier en largeur de 40 cm.

Après la pose de votre dallage, nous vous recommandons de protéger votre pierre grâce à un traitement hydro/oléofuge

L’entreprise Le Comptoir des Pierres fabrique dans son atelier de Savigny les Beaune (21) tous vos projets en pierre de Comblanchien en standard ou en sur mesure.

En effet, notre outil industriel nous permet notamment de réaliser vos gravures les plus fines : le Comblanchien étant la pierre idéale pour ce projet.

N’hésitez pas à nous consulter.

Plaque Comblanchien Clair

Pour finir sur une note historique et culturelle, de nombreux espaces publics ont été rénovés ou construits en pierre de Comblanchien : la place de la libération à Dijon, les quais des tramways à Bordeaux, une partie des sols de la Tour Taipei à Taiwan…

Vous pourrez découvrir au hasard de vos balades cette pierre en Bourgogne ou partout ailleurs dans le monde.